Wed. Oct 28th, 2020


The Real News Network

NHL All-Star Skills: Barzal nips McDavid to win Fastest Skater

2 min read

NHL: All Star Game-Skills Competition

New York Islanders center Mathew Barzal ended Connor McDavid’s three-year run as the NHL’s fastest skater, edging the Edmonton Oilers star in the first event of the NHL All-Star Skills on Friday in St. Louis.

Barzal skated a lap in 13.175 seconds, topping McDavid’s 13.215.

“That’s a good time by Barzy,” McDavid said, according to “Tip your hat. That’s it.”

New York Rangers winger Chris Kreider came in third at 13.509, just ahead of Buffalo Sabres center Jack Eichel (13.540) and Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon (13.895).

The St. Louis Blues’ Jordan Binnington, in front of his home fans, won the Save Streak competition, in which goalies vie for the longest run of saving skaters’ penalty-shot attempts.

Binnington posted a streak of 10 to top the Tampa Bay Lightning’s Andrei Vasilevskiy (nine), the Toronto Maple Leafs’ Frederik Andersen (seven), the Washington Capitals’ Braden Holtby (five) and the Vancouver Canucks’ Jacob Markstrom (five).

One of the shots Binnington stopped came from San Jose Sharks center Tomas Hertl, who was wearing a Justin Bieber mask. Earlier this month, Bieber accepted a challenge from Binnington to oppose him in a competition of 10 penalty shots. The date and site of Bieber vs. Binnington have yet to be determined.

“Everybody loved it, and I can say I was Justin Bieber for a few seconds,” Hertl said.

Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin won the Accuracy Shooting event, hitting all five targets in 9.505 seconds. Edmonton center Leon Draisaitl was second at 10.257 seconds, and Florida Panthers winger Jonathan Huberdeau (13.704 seconds), Blues defenseman Alex Pietrangelo (13.763 seconds) and Detroit Red Wings winger Tyler Bertuzzi (13.868 seconds) rounded out the top five.

A Canadian women’s all-star team topped a U.S. women’s all-star 2-1 behind goals from Melodie Daoust and Rebecca Johnston.

Montreal Canadiens defenseman Shea Weber fired the puck 106.5 mph to win the Fastest Shot contest. He topped Washington Capitals defenseman John Carlson (104.5 mph), Vancouver Canucks center Elias Pettersson (102.4 mph), Flames defenseman Mark Giordano (102.1 mph) and Lightning defenseman Victor Hedman (102.1 mph).

Chicago Blackhawks winger Patrick Kane won the Shooting Stars target-shooting event in overtime, with his 24 points topping the 22 of Maple Leafs winger Mitch Marner and Blues center Ryan O’Reilly.

–Field Level Media